.:: In the name of God Most Gracious Most Merciful ::.

Infinite Menus, Copyright 2006, OpenCube Inc. All Rights Reserved.


2009 Harmony Award Recipients 

IAW was launched successfully in Wellington on Monday 10 August. The ceremony included the announcement of the 2009 Harmony Award winners and presentation of their awards. The 2009 Harmony Award are:

  • Harmony Award Winner - Heather Tanguay  - Former Mayor of Palmerston North

    For her long association and assistance provided to the Muslim community of Manawatu.

  • Harmony Award Winner - Pawan Rekha - Production Manager of Radio Tarana

    For producing Ramadhan programming and providing excellent coverage on fasting and the blessings of Ramadhan and Eid'ul Fitr on the Hindi radio station Radio Tarana

  • Harmony Award Winner - Barbara Redfern - Waikato Refugee Resettlement Society

    For her hard work in assisting the refugees, mainly the Somali community in the Waikato region, in resettlement programmes.

  • Harmony Award Winner - Murali Kumar - Community Relations Manager, Ministry of Social Development

    Murali Kumar was instrumental in organising the First Muslim Stakeholders Forum and has always included the Muslim community in the various community initiatives and reach out programmes rolled out by the government.

Kumar Murali was present to receive his award at the official launch of IAW 2009. Those who were not able to attend the launch will be presented with their Awards by the Regional Associations during their local IAW Open Day event. At the launch Sheikh Amir stepped up to receive the Harmony Award on behalf of Heather Tanguay, while Br Javed Khan received on behalf of Pawan Rekha and Br Anwar-ul Ghani received on behalf of Barbara Redfern.